2015 Winners

You are here

The Cornaro Scholarship Committee announced the winners of the 2015 KGP scholarship competition at the Convention Banquet on Saturday, June 27, 2015. The prestigious Cornaro Scholarship—open only to Kappa members—may be used for graduate expenses at any accredited university.  Our two Cornaro Scholars for 2015 are Caitlin Baard (Felician College, Lodi, NJ, ’15) and Joy Viceroy (Saint Mary’s College, Notre Dame, IN, ’13).

Caitlin Baard is a resident of College Point, New York, and completed her B.A. in mathematics and philosophy. She recently began her studies for a Master of Arts degree in counseling psychology at Felician College. Caitlin has a long resumé of volunteer service, including school-led trips to Nicaragua and Haiti. In Nicaragua, her group worked with local farmers, built wheelchairs with the American Nurses Foundation, and visited local clinics, schools and two orphanages. In Haiti, Caitlin spent two weeks teaching English to schoolchildren.

About her perspective on service and career aspirations, in her Cornaro application Caitlin wrote: “Growing up, service was always a critical part of my life. I realized early on that our society is purely ruled by the interactions between people that occur and is centered on a dependence of others. This became very apparent to me when I was 12 years old and my family unexpectedly became homeless. During the year and a half of experiencing life in homeless shelters and the welfare system, I recognized how important and essential human kindness and assistance are to the well-being of every person. This experience allowed me not only to have the familiarity of being the individual giving back, but also gave me the ability to truly appreciate someone else's service. Playing the part of both the giver and the receiver, I truly understand how important service is and how much I want to dedicate my life to helping others who may face unforeseen hardships.” After earning her degree in Counseling Psychology, Caitlin would like to work with individuals struggling with homelessness and who are confronted with poverty.

Joy Viceroy is from Berea, Ohio. After earning her B.A. in music and theatre in 2013, she accepted a volunteer position as house director for a lay Catholic community through the House of Brigid program at the University of Notre Dame with Clonard Church of the Annunciation in Wexford, Ireland. She will soon begin work on a master of music degree in liturgical music at Pontifical University, St. Patrick’s College, Maynooth, County Kildare, Ireland.

Joy wrote about the role that liturgy and music have played in her life thus far and where she hopes her graduate studies will take her in her Cornaro application: “I have always been a planner, the kind who looks ahead way too far into the future in order to try to avoid any 'bumps' in the road of life. However, in recent times, I have slowly faced the realization that God’s plans are always going to trump my own. That is not to say He cannot work ahead, too, though. In fact, God began planning very far ahead with me when He guided me in becoming a founding member of my home parish’s music ministry at the age of nine. Even though I have been a music minister for well over half of my life, it has only been in the last couple of years that I have discerned this as my vocation. Ultimately, I plan to obtain a Director of Music position in a parish music ministry program.”

The Cornaro Corner

This year, the Cornaro Scholarship Committee was pleased to award $5,000 scholarships to two deserving Kappas.

I am very grateful to the Kappas who served as judges for the Cornaro Scholarship Committee: National Recording Secretary Kate Coulihan Ficke (Dominican, IL, ’75), Maureen Bianco (Notre Dame de Namur, CA, ’61), Edward Hosmer (Madonna, MI, ’02) and Renae Oswald (Our Lady of the Lake, TX, ’04). Congratulations to our newest Cornaro Scholars! And thank you to all who contribute to the Cornaro Scholarship Fund.

Teresa Bosh (Madonna University, MI, ’94) II Vice President, Cornaro Scholarship Committee Chair.